Use watercolor paints to decorate furnishings.


Many years ago I read an article about using watercolors on primed wood furnishings. I have used this technique through the years. Somehow I tossed this technique into the recesses of my memory. Maybe I needed to percolate it for a while waiting for the right time to bring it back. I have found things always happen when the time seems to dictate it necessary and my watercolors are back.

I have been fascinated with space and the images we have received from the Hubble Satellite are spectacular. Using my watercolors I threw intense colors down on primed ply panels, allowing the colors to blend and mix. After several minutes the paints had started to set up I sprayed the surface with water drops. I used a clean cloth and to absorb the excess water. When it dried I enhanced some of the areas again using the same process. To finish this look with watercolors you must seal the surface with lacquer or oil varnish. I prefer Deft Lacquer spray. The panel was placed in a vintage frame where I used the same process over silver and gold faux leaf. A wonderful vintage functional art tray is born.

Interested in my tray visit my shop at LRStudio Between the Weeds at Etsy The listing is pictured below.

Original Painting Watercolor Abstract Vintage Frame Wood Tray

Original Painting Watercolor Abstract Vintage Frame Wood Tray
zoom
Original Painting Watercolor Abstract Vintage Frame Wood Tray Original Painting Watercolor Abstract Vintage Frame Wood Tray Original Painting Watercolor Abstract Vintage Frame Wood Tray Original Painting Watercolor Abstract Vintage Frame Wood Tray Original Painting Watercolor Abstract Vintage Frame Wood Tray
A vintage frame turned into functional art painted with watercolor and sealed with several coats of lacquer to protect. Turquoise, deep pinks, navy tinge of green and chartreuse splattered across the surface of abstract functional art titled Nebula.
Bottom is covered in cork.
Measures: 15″ x 11.25″ x 2.75″
Tray surface: 12.5″ x 8.25″If you are ordering outside the USA:
I ship everywhere please before you order ask for international shippingactual charge to your location. The price for shipping everywhere is only an estimate.More Cottage: http://www.etsy.com/shop/LRStudio?section_id=6097607
OR http://www.LRStudio.etsy.com

One thought on “Use watercolor paints to decorate furnishings.

Leave a Reply

