Mixed media cottage wall art with a twist.


 

 

Mixed media cottage wall art with a twist is how I describe this eclectic fresco canvas wall painting. I think it mimics the walls of European frescoes with a bit of whimsy thrown in with a hand sculpted wren bird sitting on top admiring my work. I wanted to give painted cottage a contemporary jolt but add a little history too. This is a fun painting and a bit of an experiment using mixed media, but I do think it is a great success. Don’t you? Interested in purchasing this whimsical fresco painting and other delightful painted cottage work visit my shop Between The Weeds.

Painted Canvas Panel Mixed Media Pears Sculpted Bird.

Painted Canvas Panel Mixed Media Pears Sculpted Bird.
zoom
Painted Canvas Panel Mixed Media Pears Sculpted Bird. Painted Canvas Panel Mixed Media Pears Sculpted Bird. Painted Canvas Panel Mixed Media Pears Sculpted Bird. Painted Canvas Panel Mixed Media Pears Sculpted Bird. Painted Canvas Panel Mixed Media Pears Sculpted Bird.

A painted canvas of pears is painted on a simplified style of fresco applied on top of the canvas. The hand painted pears have an aged look and a whimsical sculpted bird gives my painting a wonderful twist. A fabulous addition to cottage chic and farmhouse decor.

I mixed a glue and plaster mixture and applied it to the front and sides of the canvas. I sealed it and then added two washes before I did my final painting of the pears. I wanted to add just a bit more whimsy so I added my sculpted wren bird and placed it on the top to keep watch. The entire piece is varnished and to give it an aged time worn effect. It is ready to hang with a sawtooth hanger and the back is sealed for protection.

Overall it is 6″ x 6″ and is 2″ deep.

These are my original designs and I hand paint each piece.
All rights are not transferable with the purchase of this painting and remain with the artist.
The copyright is for photographing and does not appear on the original.

Ask about shipping charges outside the 48 states.
I ship everywhere please before you order ask for international shipping actual charge to your location. The price for shipping everywhere is only an estimate.

For More Painted Furniture visit:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/BetweenTheWeeds?section_id=6097607

Shop my entire shop Visit:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/BetweenTheWeeds
Vintage Etsy Shop:
http://www.PaintedCottageHome.etsy.com

More Fairy Houses visit: http://www.etsy.com/shop/BetweenTheWeeds?section_id=10216629

 

Leave a Reply

